Posted by: oceannah | June 28, 2012

Take A Walk On The Wild Side

Last night was so incredibly lovely that we decided to talk a nice long walk.  Here are some of the sights from our little adventure.  It is these simple pleasures that make living the country life so enjoyable.

Grandmother Moon out and about with us

While walking along my daughter spotted this fine friend on the other side of the pond hunting up a late day snack no doubt.

Great Blue Heron

A little further down the way we startled a small duck.  She came out of the rushes chirping and swam off.  She’s probably got her little ones in the rushes ready for nightfall.   At first I thought she was a mallard but I was mistaken.

American Black Duck

Although we often walk here, Spring is such a busy time that many changes happen even in short periods of us not visiting.

Turtle eggs hatched out, judging by the size I would have to guess snapping turtle eggs

It’s not like we took an extended journey, the whole walk is only about 3 miles.  However it was just packed with wonderful things to see.  My daughter has a keen eye and after startling Miss Duck she went around a bend and we couldn’t see her.  Then there was a lot of ‘wake’ in the water and my daughter said, “Mama…look!”

Pay attention here to the yellow flower on the left of the picture…

Yum! That is a beaver eating lilly flowers 🙂 I’ve never had the pleasure of watching a beaver eat before, it was pretty fun. Beaver is the state animal of  NY.

This little beaver was very hard at work and made this lovely dam.  Very tidy and neat I might add.

Dam site good

Beaver lodge

It wouldn’t be a complete adventure without some element of danger now would it?

Water Hemlock…’nuf  said

 

Parting shot

 

the trusty travel companion

Today I am 49!  Happy Birthday to me.  I hope you are all having a great week.  Looking forward to a full year of health and wellness.

*anna

 

 


Responses

  1. All the treasures you are blessed with seeing when you don’t live in the big city!!!! That beaver is stinkin’ cute! Happy, Happy Birthday to you….I hope that you have a wonderful day!!!

    Hugs, Julie

    • Thanks so much Julie, it’s a blessing indeed.
      Hugs backatcha 🙂
      *anna

  2. The beaver is our Canada’s animal of choice

    • They are adorable! This one mad a big tail slap and stirred up the whole pond shortly after his nibble.
      *anna

  3. take our out of my last comment

  4. Happy birthday!

    • Thanks Tammy! So far, it’s a great day 🙂 Off to a nice dinner with the fam and then a 4H event w/ my girl.
      *anna

  5. Happy Birthday!

    • Thanks Luv 🙂
      *anna

  6. Happy Birthday, Anna Banana 🙂

    • Thanks so much Sandi!
      *anna

      • You are welcome, my friend!!! I’ll catch up to you age wise in December 🙂

  7. Beautiful post! How many people are fortunate enough to see all those sights on one walk! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    • I know right Kaye?!! What an amazing world we live in. Thanks for the happy wishes 🙂
      *anna

  8. Happy Birthday…today is my daughter’s 30th birthday!! Amazing!! Hope you have a fantastic day!!

    • Cool…great to share a b’day. Thanks, so far so good on fantastic…had a great lift upper bod, a nice long swim and off to a fabu din-din w/ the fam then a 4H event….what a day:)
      *anna

  9. Happy Birthday Anna! I turn 48 in just a few days myself. I should have known you were a fellow moon child.

    • Yay for us June babies…happy to US!

      *anna

  10. Happy Birthday! I hope you have a wonderful day! And the pictures are beautiful!

    • Wonderful day in the bag Stephanie, thanks so much 🙂

      *anna

  11. Happy Birthday! What a beautiful place to walk.

    • Thanks Amy 🙂 It was GREAT!
      *anna

  12. Happy birthday! lovely pictures 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories