Posted by: oceannah | May 1, 2012

Liebster Blog Award

A great big Beautiful Thank You to Julie at A Beautiful Day for nominating oceannah for the Liebster Blog Award.  Julie blogs about her adventures as a mom to a very handsome young son, paper craft/scrapbooking and has some truly lovely photographs on her blog.

As with all such awards there is a component of paying it forward to other blogs/bloggers.  I really like this part of the blog community.  I wish it were a more common practice ‘out there’ in the non-blog world, but I guess that’s up to each of us to carry the torch forward 😉

Liebster is a German word, meaning dearest or beloved, but it can also mean favorite. The idea behind the Liebster Blog Award is that it is given to talented and/or loved bloggers who have less than 200 followers in order to create new connections and to bring attention to these wonderful blogs!

I’m to post five facts about myself and link to five other blogs that are beloved by me.  Part two will be easier, so I’ll start with the facts:

1-  Before I had children I had this equation as a working idea of parental responsibility:  fish = zero,               two cats = one dog…  two dogs + two cats = one child.  Such naïveté.

2-  When growing up my sister’s and I believed wholly and fully that the house we lived in was haunted…we still believe it 😉

3- I was punished by the nuns in Sunday school for bringing a bible to class and asking, “how come Catholics don’t read the bible?”

4- The top of my barn is filled with chess sets that my husband promises will not move with us again!

5- As a 20 something I thought nothing of driving from NJ to WVa for dinner at our favorite restaurant, AND getting up for work in the morning!  A feat I could not do today 😉

FIVE BLOGS THAT ARE ‘LIEBSTER’ TO ME… 

1-Flamidwyfe’s Blog http://flamidwyfe.wordpress.com/  Sandi blogs about her adventures and spectacular success on the Dukan Diet while living in China and being a midwyfe.  She is an awesome example of putting your dreams out there and living FULLY!!  Also, I wouldn’t even be a blogger if it weren’t for Sandi xo

2- My Dukan Diet http://soniadukandiet.blogspot.com/ Sonia’s blog is a fearless collection of the ups and downs and overall success in the weight loss journey using the Dukan Diet and raising a young child who sometimes sleeps 🙂

3- The Townhouse Homesteaders  http://thetownhousehomesteaders.wordpress.com/  I recently began following this blog.  I love that this family of three are adopting the sensibilities of homesteading in spite of the fact that they do not yet have a sprawling tract of land.  THAT is the homesteading ethos…make due 🙂

4- My Sister Pantry http://mysisterspantry.wordpress.com/  These two sister’s are on a real food journey.  They have great ideas and share a lot of humor along the way.  Always something interesting to be had!

5- Amanda gardens in zone 5A and hey, you can never have too many gardening buddies in my opinion.  This blog is also very well written–by an English graduate who will write that novel, someday.  When the garden isn’t calling perhaps http://confessionsfromanovicegardener.wordpress.com/about/

If you have been nominated, here is what you do to keep it rolling:

Each Nominee Should:

 

  1. Choose five, up and coming blogs to give the Liebster award to.  Blogs must have less than 200 followers.
  2. Show your thanks to the blogger who gave you the award by linking back to them.
  3. Post the award on your blog.
  4. List the bloggers you gave the award to with links to their sites.  Leave a comment on their blogs to let them know they’ve received the award.
  5. Share five random facts about yourself!

Thanks for checking out these lovely blogs.  They are all different and each one has some tasty tidbit to offer be it a technique, a bite, witticism or simply a great picture to bring a smile to your lips.  And thank you again Julie for the nomination.  Enjoy!

*anna


 

Responses

  1. Kudos ti you for researcing “Liebster”! It makes a lot more sense now! Thank you so much for paying it forward! I know everyone is busy, but how awesome that you took the time to recognize other bloggers out there. i look forward to checking out those that you recognized. Thanks again and keep doing what you do…..love your blog!!!!!

    Jules

    • Thanks Julie for the nomination:) I’m always interested to know where things come from and what they mean. It’s pretty cool that way the blog community is such a sharing/caring place.
      *anna

  2. […] I forgot about the Liebster Award… My blogging friend Anna nominated me for this award and had this to say about […]

  3. Thanks so much Anna. I really appreciate all your support and encouragement. I will definitely accept and put on my blog, may be a few days as Im trying to swap my blog to wordpress, its taking more time that I would like, but I feel it will be worth it, not helped by my laptop playing ‘silly beggars!’ Another britism for your collection! LOL xoxo

    • Yay Sonia!! Coming on over to WP. No worries, take your time. I’ll have to look up ‘silly beggars’ I know not. The support is a two way street and I’m equally as appreciative of your support as well. XO
      *anna

      • I use it to mean annoying / playing the fool / messing about, something along those lines but it actually is a milder way of saying ‘silly bugger’. xo

      • Hahah!
        *anna


Leave a Reply

Categories

