Posted by: oceannah | April 27, 2012

NEST RUN

Grade: Nest Run Eggs

Nest run means literally, as the eggs are pulled from the nest boxes.  This photo is a shot of three eggs from yesterday’s collection.  The shiny object is a quarter for comparison.  On the left is a small egg from our lovely Henny Penny a Buff Cochin/Brahma cross.  This egg would equate to a “medium” egg by USDA standards.  The egg to the far right is from a Dominique/Araucana cross.  This egg would receive the USDA grade of “Large.”

The egg in the center is huge!  It filled up my whole palm.  Sizing up more like a goose egg than a chicken egg I felt it was photo worthy 😉  The Egg in the center is an Araucana egg.  If you look closely you’ll see I crushed the top left of the egg.  Although it was very large, the shell was fragile.  I was pretty excited to see what was inside, since I thought it may be a triplet…We do get twins on occasion.  I’ve never seen a triple yolk egg though.

Double Yolk in a wheel thrown bowl, robins egg blue glaze--cone 6 fire

 

I guess I’ll have to wait to find a triplet.  This tasty egg turned into breakfast 🙂  Hope your Friday is off to a great start.

*anna

Responses

  1. your egg is smiling too!! 🙂

    • Hahahah…I didn’t see that til you pointed it out Shannon 🙂
      *anna

  2. Breakfast for two with one crack!

    • 🙂 I ate them both, urp…
      *anna

  3. I want fresh eggs for breakfast!!!

    • No problem…plenty to share 🙂
      *anna


Leave a Reply

Categories

