Posted by: oceannah | February 7, 2013

Bistro Dinner at Home

Bistro wings at home

home made bistro fare is perfect for a mid-week supper.

Do you ever get a hankering for some good ol’ bistro fare?  We do, but it is not justifiable to go out and eat factory raised wings when right here on the homestead we have a freezer full of the cleanest, organic, pastured meat around.  What to do?  Hot wings were the main ‘hankering point’ but we buy all of our chickens whole.  So I cut up the chicken into parts, including wings.  I did cut the breast meat into 3 pieces also.  Cooked at 425 degrees F after a light brush of olive oil and salt/pepper/garlic.

In a sauté pan I melted a couple tablespoons of butter then added 5 T of Franks Hot Sauce.  When the chicken was crispy and 170 degrees internal temp I gave them a thorough skizzle in the sauce and plated them on top of some delicious greens along with oven roasted sweet potatoes.  Of course there is some blue cheese for dressing, dunking or just plain devouring.

Turns out the legs, thighs and breast meat were about as delish as the wings, although two of us agreed that Franks is not nearly hot enough…next time we’ll add a healthy sprinkle of cayenne pepper to the pan.

While this is not a low fat dinner it certainly is less fat than the wings that get drenched in a fryer…and it is leaps and bounds more flavorful than the standard roast chicken over salad greens 😉  Also oven roasted sweet potatoes are far lower in fat than those bathed in the fryer, so to quench the hankering it was quite the right meal.

Recipe:

Cut up one whole chicken into parts separating wings and dividing breast meat into pieces.  Season with salt/pepper/garlic and lightly drizzle olive oil.  Bake 425F about 25 min. or until internal temp = 170

Sauté briefly in the hot sauce and serve over freshly spun greens with Blue Cheese dressing & oven roasted sweet potatoes.

Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe:

1/2 cup real mayo (home made is best if you have fresh eggs)

1/4 cup plain yogurt (again, home made makes it extra special, but no sweat if you don’t have)

1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese, I prefer Stilton but use what suits your taste buds.

Dash of salt and pepper

Super easy and satisfying mid week meal.  What favorite Bistro style meals have you tried to replicate at home and were they “The BOMB” or did they fall flat?  Have a great day!

Today we’re preparing for a big winter storm to arrive early tomorrow…hurray for a bit more snow to ski on!

*anna

Responses

  1. yummy!

    • Indeed it was Cindy…great to ‘hear’ from you. PS…what’s shakin’ w/ the tri x 4?? Are we doing the NJ one ?
      *anna

      • Cindy and I chatted last night on the phone about that… I’m up for the NJ tri… Waiting on the rest of you xoxo

      • NJ works 4 me!! My old stompin’ grounds the Jersey shore 🙂

      • Im all in… Now lets see if we can get the other half of the team in 🙂

  2. I’m suddenly hungry!

    • Filling up on such good eats is a great blessing Dallas. I bet you made a yummy little something to fill the gaps in eh?
      *anna

      • Anna, I am truly pants in the kitchen

      • Well as an old friend used to say, “I can’t be good in two rooms of the house!” -Doris the waitress at age 74 🙂
        anna

      • Fab now she sounds like my kinda girl!

  3. Nice! Please pass the homemade Bleu Cheese dressing!

    • Comin’ at ya….SO yummy too. Thanks for visiting 🙂
      *anna

  4. I can’t wait to try that! Slobbering already LOL. Great post Anna. Hope all is flourishing at the homestead and your daughters college courses are going well. I love the dinner out (but in) feel to the meal, making a kind of special occasion of meal at home. I need to try it. A pleasure as always to stop by. xoxo

    • Thanks Sonia it’s always such a pleasure to hear from you. I’ll have to pop over and see how you’re making out with your juicing 🙂
      xo
      *anna

  5. Looks amazingly yummy!!

    • stuffed my gob full 🙂

      • I bet you did! With food that yummy, who wouldn’t!

  6. Looks delicious! I love sweet potatoes roasted. One of my favorites.

    • They are a wonderful root…one of my faves too! Thanks for your comment 🙂
      *anna

  7. This is making my mouth water!! So good! – Kaye

    • We will make these again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

