Posted by: oceannah | January 7, 2013

Mountain Winter

hol chal end_3919It is a gorgeous day here in the Catskills!  The weather is mild with sunny blue skies.  One of my favorite waterfalls is above.  It is flowing really nicely today.  We saw a few eagles today also but they were fishing on a section of the reservoir that was obscured by trees so no clear shot was available.

hol chal end_3924The pine tree in the center of this picture has an aerie that has been used by a pair of eagles now for many years.  It is not very visible from this shot, but the top looks to have blown off the nest tree.  I’m wondering if this will affect the couples decision to lay or not?

The year here got off to a mellow beginning.  I did another body composition challenge this past 7 weeks and I’ll post some stats here in the next day or two.  I’ve put on almost 3 more pounds of muscle!  I’m happy with that.  The next major focus I’ll be doing (physical) is to get more lean.  I’ve proven to myself I am very capable of building muscle, and while I did lose some fat, I’d like to do a bit more.

The triathlon that is in the planning stages is running into some scheduling issues both with myself and two of the other 3 women.  Hopefully we’ll all be able to find a date that works.  That is not until summer though so there’s time 🙂

I’ll be changing my workout from a four day split back to three days.  We’ll be skiing this Thursday and Friday which will be our first of the season.  We’re also looking forward to a long weekend of skiing with friends over the MLK weekend in the Adirondack Mountains.  A friend I haven’t seen in a long while and I are hoping to schedule a spa weekend for the two of us…that sounds like fun and I’m going to work hard to make it happen both for the friendship and for the ahhhhh factor.

Not too much else going on…rummaging through seed catalogs and keeping the home fires burning.  How ’bout you?  Is there a scheduled fitness journey on your horizon or a fun event you’re looking forward to?

Responses

  1. Don’t know if eagles are the same, but around here the local conservation group has built nesting platforms for the Osprey right on top of the hydro poles. The birds have also built on the high-tension towers all along the hydro corridor (can’t imagine what kind of effect that has on their offspring):

  2. What a beautiful picture of the falls. This is the second year that I have consciously welcomed winter, rather than dread it. Pictures like this help me to focus on the beauty of this season.

  3. I loved the waterfall shot too!

  4. I love Oregon, don’t get me wrong, but I would so love to take a weekend trip to Lake Placid!! Enjoy the ADKs! Love the photos!

  5. You’re making me tired! You almost make me miss my old home (grew up on Lake Champlain; went to school in the Catskills.) Then again…snow. Nevermind. 🙂

  6. Beautiful! So nice to see clear blue sky. I’m most looking forward to getting organized so I can jump into about five things I want to be working this winter. Thanks for the post! I am reminded to get to exercising soon as my ankle allows. – Kaye

  7. its so beautiful!

  8. Gorgeous part of the country… I’m hoping we get stuff worked out with dates, too… I’m so looking forward to meeting you!

  9. I am doing the Truffle Shuffle, Color Me Rad Run and a Half-Marathon. These are the ones I have signed up for so far. I wish I were more of a swimmer because triathalons seem like so much fun. I just suck at swimming. Beautiful pictures and I love squash soup. I have been making a soup every week, but confess I use bought stock. Maybe I will make some this weekend…


Leave a Reply

Categories

