Posted by: oceannah | November 21, 2012

The End is Here…for fresh homegrown greens

21 November 2012 – final harvest of greens.

collard greens

These yummy collards will be featured in tomorrows menu tossed with toasted garlic and pecans!

tat soi

I will use the outer leaves of the tat soi for steamed greens, but the tender inner leaves I’ll add to the salad greens which are in short supply

 

last of the lettuce

Slim pickin’ in the lettuce row

The season of growing and picking has really come to a close today, in spite of the unusually warm and sunny weather.  With the addition of row covers or cold frames we could extend the season, and we have done so in past years–not this year.  In some ways it is a welcome relief, although moving into the place of buying greens is always sketchy as I’ve already seen one recall of boxed salad greens.  Thankfully there are a lot of wonderful greens still in the freezer.

Wishing you all a wonderful day of giving thanks.

*anna

 

 

Responses

  1. Yum, I love collard greens.

    • Me TOO!! What’s your favorite way to cook them?

      • Simply sauteed with olive oil and a little garlic.

  2. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving from one of your Canadian friends

    • Thanks LouAnn…My Canadian friends are a lovely group 🙂

  4. Wow! You had a bountiful garden this year. I’m thankful for getting to know you!

    • Sandy I couldn’t agree more I’m so happy we’ve met!! What a wonderful year it’s been.

  5. How wonderful to still be able to feast on garden greens at this time of year. Happy Thanksgiving to you as well!

    • Thanks Audrey, I hope you had a splendid Thanksgiving!!

  6. What a bountiful garden you have grown and harvested. So amazed at your resourcefulness. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • thanks! I hope your thanksgiving was a wonderful one 🙂

  7. I was told to get row covers for my brassicas I just planted to keep cabbage moths from laying eggs on the seedlings, but, what are they and where do I find them. As for your good eating, you have put so much stuff away that I feel sure you will be in good shape. As for me, I’ve got all sorts of seedlings coming up.

    • Kaye I love that you are able to be in a growing season still. The cabbage moths are a bother to say the least. You’ll see smallish white moths all around any cruciferous veggies, laying their eggs which of course turn into hungry little caterpillars….very hungry. You can use row covers, but I’ve found that to be tricky since some moths can still find their way in and then you do not know you have a problem b/c it’s under cover. If you only have a few plants the best way to go is probably to just pick the caterpillars off. They are hard to spot, as they are the same color, but they tend to hide in the main leaf vein in the am and then venture out to the underside of leaves to eat, eat, eat. Good luck.
      You can also use BT as an organic control…


Leave a Reply

Categories

