Posted by: oceannah | November 15, 2012

Stan, Beware — Tide wants to remove you!

 

Beware Stan, Tide has got it in for you!! This is a screen shot from tonight’s MFP look at the  black oval with red rays…I do believe that’s supposed to say stain…woopsie. 

While I was logging my calories I happened to notice that the annoying ad was even more annoying than usual.  Were the folks at Tide/Target too cheap to hire a copy editor?  Or have they created a malicious/miraculous  new product that will in fact remove Stan from your life?

I see this kind of error everywhere.  Most times I just shake my head.  Recently we passed a sign in our area for “Kiln Dryed Wood.”  I’m not a pedant…mostly.  The hand wrought sign of a local wood cutter is one thing, a national advertising campaign for all the world wide web to see, is quite another story in my opinion.  Still in all it made me chuckle.

*anna

Responses

  1. Knowing how ad agencies pour over and over and over their ads before they are released, this is pretty incredible. – Kaye

    • one would think…it seemed pretty glaring to me

  2. Yup, you’ve just been introduced to Tide’s new mascot, “Stan” the stain; ) Though, i must admit that I’ve missed the occasional Oopsie when doing cut and paste – or just not noticed one of those annoying “convenience” correc(assump)tions…

    • LOL! Or not been corrected (all “i”s being equal; )

  3. Too funny!!

    • I know right? Thanks Cindy.

  4. It seems, lately, if spell checker does not alert us to an error, then it is missed. Unfortunately for Tide…and Stan.

    • I hear ya! The problem with spell check in this case is that Stan and stain are both ‘words’ and the computer can’t differentiate usage.


Leave a Reply

Categories

