Posted by: oceannah | October 22, 2012

morning meditation

This morning I was awake by 4am.  Not able to fall back to sleep.  Then the pup came downstairs and needed to go out.  What a gorgeous sky!  Venus in the East was utterly brilliant.  Orion overhead marching ever west.

Opening a regular ‘morning read’ I had the pleasure of finding these words by Wendell Berry:

Sowing the seed,

my hand is one with the Earth.

Wanting the seed to grow,

my mind is one with the light.

Hoeing the crop,

my hands are one with the rain.

Having cared for the plants,

my mind is one with the air.

Hungry and trusting,

my mind is one with the Earth.

Eating the fruit,

my body is one with the Earth.

~Wendell Berry

Happy Monday to you all.  How do you feel the oneness with the Earth?  For me the garden is like a living meditation.

*anna

Responses

  1. I am always blessed when I see wildlife. Especially since I live very close to town, and a major highway. God’s creation is so beautiful. This week I had four deer in the yard, one buck yearling, and on my run on Saturday, into town, I saw 4 turkeys in the front yard of the elementary school, then as I came down my street there was a piliated woodpecker in the pine tree!!

    • It’s wonderful that you got to see those critters Cindy. I have a soft spot for the woodpecker…natures rhythm section 😉

    • LOL! Every time I hear a Pileated Woodpecker I think of the goofy sound effects from old Hollywood (think Bogey & Bacall era) movies set in “Africa”.

      • or how about ‘the woody woodpecker show’ do you remember that one?

      • Thunderbirds, The Jetsons, Popeye, Felix the Cat, Rocky and Bullwinkle…
        Saturday mornings don’t look anywhere near the same; )

      • I know ’em all….and the brady bunch, gilligans island etc. TODAY as I sit here I can sing the entire theme song from each. This knowledge is one reason I chose to raise my daughter without the influence of television. The things she remembers hearing as a small child is stories, songs and I will confess….one of the first ad libs she did on her clarinet was the theme of NPR ;0

  2. I have achieved no oneness yet–but am working on it

    • Good on you LouAnn! Keep me posted eh?

  3. Early mornings find me walking the bridges in my coastal town… I love watching the sun come up while meditating and doing yoga on the beach… It’s so quiet that early in the morning.

    • Oh Sandi, yoga on the beach, now that is a meditation 🙂

  4. My garden is my meditation, too. I worked for seven hours yesterday, just measured work, no hoeing, but adjusting, trimming, planting, reflecting. I would stay out there every day till dark if I could. How can such a small yard occupy so many hours? It’s a mystery, except, there’s a fair amount of re-doing, moving something I thought was in the right spot. I wonder what I would see at 4AM, skunk, raccoon and coyote, and possibly an owl. I don’t go outside at that hour. It is L.A. If I’ve told my boys once, I’ve told them a thousand times, most of the bad things that happen here, happen after midnight, so, be home and inside by then!

  5. WOW Kaye seven hours is a full days work. It does take a lot of work to get things right though, and usually, just when you think it’s all good something comes up and either changes your mind or kills your plant so the work begins anew.

  6. Knees on the ground
    Hands in the earth
    Head in the clouds.

    • Yeah, I think I’ll go do just that. I need some meditation. Better get out on my knees.

      • : )

    • ‘zactly

  7. great quote – it’s given me an idea for my Dad’s xmas present – thank you

    • you are most welcome


Leave a Reply

Categories

