Posted by: oceannah | October 4, 2012

Floriani Red Flint Corn Polenta -recipe

floriani red flint cornmeal

Our first batch of freshly ground cornmeal.  YUM!

Polenta Recipe:

1 cup Floriani Red Flint Polenta

  • 2 1/2  cups water
  • 1-teaspoon salt
  • 2-tablespoons butter (optional)
  • Bring the water and salt to a rolling boil in a heavy pot. Sprinkle the polenta into the boiling water — Use a whisk to keep it all nice and smooth, nobody likes a clumpy polenta.  I found that the fresh cornmeal thickens up pretty fast…6 minutes or so.
  • Enjoy.
  • I did re-edit this post since it was one that I sent using the post by email option.  And that was before I realized that in fact, it is my isp…

*anna

Responses

  1. Not that I will be doing it, but, how did you grind the corn, and how many ears does it take for 1 cup? Just curious. – Kaye

    • I use a vitamix for the grinding and about 2 ears=a cup. it’s so yummy!

  2. Hi Anna, Simple or not, it’s SO good to hear from you!! (but the frustration level completely sucks!). You are not the only person that I know of with difficulties lately… Lynda@pixelated2 mentioned something about being really ticked about losing a (long and rather complicated) reply to someone just the other day and FarmGal’s been having trouble with upload for (at least) a couple of weeks. Perhaps there are commonalities? And that just put a song into my head… “Well, together we stand; divided we fall and if your back should ever be against the wall…”
    xo

    • Deb It does seem that changing the isp to this connection here at the library has made the difference for me. Although, in the whole of it, there have been A LOT of very unusual things afoot lately….ie: I went to pickup a piece of furniture on Sat and then to the feed store (a 45 min drive)….when I returned to the car no keys! After hours of looking, the best scenario we could all come up w/ is that the gentleman at the feed store accidentally grabbed my keys and left w/ them…that took several hours of waiting in a parking lot for my hubs who was 3 hours away in another state! lots of these type odd things of late…

      • Hm, Hallowe’en magic’s afoot perhaps?; )
        But did you ever recover your keys?

  3. I’m so glad you figured it out it wasn’t WP. Sorry I haven’t been more help the past week, so glad to see you back and with gorgeous pics xoxo

    • I’m glad you’re on the mend Sandi 🙂 I am using dd’s macbook at the college library while she’s at class, so it does work out ok… still have to put the Nikon software on this computer so I had that pic in the media library.


Leave a Reply

Categories

