Posted by: oceannah | May 28, 2012

Recipe: Grilled Eye Round with scallions & spinach

Today marks the third month of oceannah!  Thanks so much to everyone for making the blog so much FUN 🙂

It’s also Memorial Day here in the States, the ‘official’ beginning of SUMMER.  With that in mind, and more than our fair share of gardening to do and yard work as well, keeping food simple is paramount.  My freezer is fortunately filled with awesome pasture raised organic meat from Kingbird Farm and I took out an Eye Round for our meal.  I know the traditional way to cook this would be hot and fast in the oven.  But I was in the mood for grilling.  With all the rain lately I just wanted to be outside!!  I had no idea if it would be a hit or a miss…  Thankfully it turned out great.

Grilled Eye Round Recipe:

grilled eye round w/ scallions and spinach

I took the meat and split it down the center in order to open it up more like a flat piece of meat/steak.  I removed all the fascia still clinging to the meat.  It’s a very lean piece of meat so I knew a marinade would be in order.  I scored the meat on both sides and marinated it for the whole day in this…

Marinade:

3 bulbs of garlic diced fine, 1/2 cup of tamari, 1/4 cup prepared BBQ sauce (I used Annies since that’s what I had), 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, ground pepper, cayenne pepper, fresh rosemary.  Put the meat into a bowl and pour the marinade on top.  Tun every so often when you come in the house for a drink.

While the marinade was slowly seeping into the meat, I was busy doing the type of things one does in the garden…weeding, harvesting the measly row of spinach that we grew, weeding, planting the basil, weeding…well, I think you get the idea.  At the end of the day, I pulled a few nice plump scallions and threw them on the hot grill after I had flipped the meat over.  Still unsure if this would be boom or bust.

Grilling eye round turns out to be a very tasty

Served with a nice fresh salad on the side, this meal was a winner!

although I appreciate boxed salad greens in winter NOTHING beats  homegrown!

That’s the official verdict from the fam.  Sliced thin on the bias and served with spinach sauteed in garlic with the scallions and a super fresh salad, what’s not to like?  A perfect finish to a busy day with not too many dishes/pans to clean up…summer time and the livin’ is easy. 🙂

*anna


Responses

  1. YUMMY! Congrats on your 3 month blog anniversary 🙂
    I love digging in the dirt, I find it very therapeutic. And to have veggies and greens that look like that must be so rewarding!

    • Thanks Sandi. Can you believe it’s been 3 months? I’m the same w/ digging.
      *anna

  2. Congrats on 3 months!! You make me want to get out in the backyard and grow my own veggies! I really want to do that , eventually! 🙂 – That steak looks delicious! 🙂

    • Thanks Julie…even a tomato plant or two might be a fun addition for you just to get started.
      *anna

      • Might just start that! My kids will love that! 🙂

      • Yes Julie, what a great idea. Get a few cherry tomatoes and let the kids grow them!! Then you get the goods and they can do the work 😉
        *anna

  3. That looks yummy 🙂 Thanks for posting it! I wish i had a green thumb, it is more like a thumb reaper, but i would love to have my own veggie patch – homegrown stuff always tastes sooo much nicer than store bought!

    • hahah… Well there’s always the farmer’s market 😉 or a CSA, it would be a boring world if we were all good at the same things anyhow!
      *anna

  4. I’ve never tried grilled scallions. Jon loves to grill and we always get a ton of scallions from the CSA – seems you’ve just given me the perfect way to marry the two!

  5. That looks SO GOOD! I must try the scallions, too!!!

    • They are so very good…just munch the entire thing down. Enjoy Moonday.
      *anna


Leave a Reply

Categories

