Posted by: oceannah | May 15, 2012

Mending

I breathe, I sneeze.  I laugh, I cough.

A few days ago it became apparent that I was not going to whup this nasty virus merely with herbs and rest.  I decided to just let it roll over me and take a realllllly serious lay in bed during the day kind of break for a few days, sleeping at random intervals, showering a lot…nice steamy air clears the lungs.   My immune system has been duking it out with the virus beasities and little by slowly, I’m gaining ground.  Yesterday I was up and around a little bit.  Today I even feel like I’ll live to see next week 😉

It’s never fun to be sick.  But at least when you have other people around to bring you tea and soup and to rub your back or feet, at least it seems less demoralizing.  On the up side, my immune system is in fine fettle and is kickin’ some viral arse.

Needless to say, I have not worked out since last Wednesday.  I had just begun phase 2 of the New Rules of Lifting for Women.  The book recommends a one week break between each phase, but I did not abide.  I did workout (A) on Monday and workout (B) on Wednesday.  I’ve been off since and I will use this time as my ‘week off’ that I probably should have taken, noted.

On a great note my dd is out of her cam boot and cleared for PT.  Her ankle has healed up very well and she should be 100% with a bit of PT to get back some range of motion.

The weather here has been a drippy rainy affair.  I’ve not been to the garden by my husband brought in some asparagus yesterday.  That might even be something I feel like eating today!  I can focus more and I have a new book I’m reading so today I hope to be able to read some of it.  Robb Wolf’s Paleo Solution.  I’ll let you know what I think of it.

Thanks for all the well wishes and kind words from the bloggy world, you folks are so sweet 🙂

*anna

Responses

  1. Get well soon!

    • Things are moving in the right direction… thankfully
      *anna

  2. So glad you’re on the mend!!

    • Yes, and you too Sandi.
      *anna

  3. Good to know that you are getting better!

    • Thanks so much…it’s slow but better.
      *anna

  4. I hope you are better soon…sickness in the body makes everything difficult.

    • Thanks Olive…getting better every day.
      *anna

  5. Glad you’re feeling better-our bodies are amazing when we give them what they need!

  6. I’ve just about finished reading ‘the new rules of lifting for women’ and am keen to get started!!! How are you finding it? I’m so used to doing all the smaller muscle groups but this book advocates the full body workout. Is that working well for you?
    ZG

    • Zealous Girl, What I can tell you is that for the past year I’ve been doing more of an isolation lift routine and yes, I’ve lost weight all along. Since beginning New Rules, I’ve seen a marked decrease in inches in my middle, hurray! As the author points out Alwyn’s workouts are designed to engage all the muscles, particularly the core, with each workout thereby making the workout significantly more effective. For me, I still need to lose some more inches around the middle and will definitely be sticking with NR4lifting. In general unless you plan to enter a body building/physique competition, working single muscles is more time consuming and less effective than a full body routine. I’m on phase two of the New Rules and it is a challenge to do several things, the one point row for instance is a real balance challenge but I know that when I’m doing it my whole body is IN THE GAME. I could do heavier weights with a simple upright row, but get LESS good results overall. So, YES, I think the New Rules of Lifting for Women is a terrific workout. I’ve also been lurking on some crossfit sites and like some of what’s going on in that community, but feel they over train a bit. Good luck!! Keep me posted as to your thoughts I’d love to compare notes with another NR woman.
      *anna


Leave a Reply

Categories

