Posted by: oceannah | May 11, 2012

“Stinking Rose Soup” Recipe…garlic does a body good

Our home has been a bit of a sick ward lately.  The other day, I too got the scratchy throat, sneezing, coughing and exhaustion.  I’ve got an event that I must attend tomorrow and I’m working every angle with Cherry Bark tincture for the cough, Grapefruit Seed extract, and a host of other herbal goodies as well as R.E.S.T.  I decided a nice pot of soup would be a good way to add even more healing goodness.  I decided on Garlic Soup since we still have a good bit of garlic from our harvest  as you can see, and garlic has a host of medicinal qualities that make it a superstar for getting me back in tip top shape for my weekend commitment.  Studies show that the ‘stinking rose’ contains antibacterial, antiviral as well as antifungal qualities.   

You’ll need a simple mirepoix, onion/carrot/celery diced.  I used some nice fresh Amish butter to lightly cook the mirepoix.

begin here

ahhh…yes, I also put in a few mushrooms

 

Cook the veggies until they begin to soften.  While that’s happening for a few minutes, begin to peel the garlic.  I don’t much like this part, the papery husk gets all over the place and things get a bit sticky.  I always use the flat of the knife to smash the cloves then the husk comes off with relative ease.

 

 

 

 

 

Once the garlic is all peeled, throw it into the pot to cook a a bit, not allowing anything to brown.

 

 

I used homemade chicken stock that I freeze.  I used 1 1/2 quarts of stock.  Once the garlic and veggies cook down a bit I add the stock, allow to simmer for about 45 minutes.  Season with salt, pepper and herbs…I prefer dill which I added, but I also used some thyme as it has additional antibacterial qualities.  On top of all that I added about three thawed out Amish Paste tomatoes and simmer another 10 minutes.  Serve piping hot.

 

This soup is delicious, but also good medicine!

I hope your weekend is a healthy one.

*anna

bowl, terra sigilata in & out w/

castille blue over -cone 6

Responses

  1. That looks delicious! Hope you get to feeling better soon and have a great weekend!

    Julie

    • Thanks Julie…still working on it.
      *anna

  2. Yum!

    • yep… nice to have good soup when feeling crappy
      *anna

  3. We are big garlic eaters in this house. This video eased my garlic peeling life… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0d3oc24fD-c

    • Thanks so much for the youtube link.
      *anna

  4. hope you feel better! that soup looks good, i want some!!

    • thanks shannon, doing a bit better today.
      *anna

  5. Grapefruit seed is also rich in vitamin-B that is why i always take it regulary. :

    My web portal
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/chlorella-benefits/


Leave a Reply

Categories

