Posted by: oceannah | April 16, 2012

SPRING LIVING

What a blur Spring can be!  The past two weeks have flown by with my family on Spring break.  It’s been fun and relaxing in many ways, but I must confess, it’s nice to be back to more of my regular routine.

Life on the Homestead is a chaos of activity in Spring and there are MANY chores that need doing.  We did a fair amount of them these past two weeks.  The red raspberry patch needed to have last year’s cane removed and the whole row weeded and mulched…we’re up to the mulch part there.  The perimeter of the garden had a lot of work done these two weeks laying down of landscape fabric and mulching.  More seed went into the garden including:  frisee, beets, more salad mix, kale, scallion (sets), potatoes, arugala, and chard.  I find it necessary to make a diagram of the garden and mark the date and place each item was seeded.  This helps us to make sure it gets properly watered (it’s fixing to be a VERY dry April again this year, no April showers) as well as keeping us from overseeding the bed with another crop since we ‘forgot’ we already planted there…don’t laugh, it’s been done more than once here.  Hence the diagram.  I also always start the season off with great note taking.  Marking down the weather, the soil conditions, seed germination rates, our likes/dislikes about certain crops.  Invariably the notes taper off as summer progresses.  This year I am going to make more of an effort to take notes at least once a week after the initial phase of madness abates.

On the weight loss front it appears that my body has a specific ingenuity for plateaus!  I spent about 6 months waffling between 155-159 regardless of input/output.  I went on the Dukan diet and lost about 7 pounds.  I’m now waffling between 152-153.  Today’s weight 152.8.   Not horrible weights, but it’d be great to move down another 20#’s or so.  I’ve also been very busily working out with increased weights.  It’s possible my calories are too low, I usually eat in the 1600/day and eschew wheat products and grains in general.  I’m considering eating at maintenance for a few days which sounds huge at 2020 cal/day since it may be that I’ve crossed over into starvation mode?!?  I trust it will go, just as surely as the previous 40 pounds have gone.  I am aware of the adage, “If you keep doing what you’ve been doing, you’ll keep getting what you’ve gotten.”  I’m not jettisoning the Dukan diet but after  a few weeks now at the same weight with full compliance to the dietary restrictions, I think it’s time to shake it up.  I know that last 10-20 pounds are always the toughest.  No worries, just more patience and a little calorie cycling.  It is a great irony but eating MORE will likely help me lose more, another in the strange but true column.

I hope everyone is having a terrific start to your week.  I’m loving the sound of the birds in the morning, Spring is so here!!

*anna

Responses

  1. I want to come help you garden! There is something so therapeutic about it! Fresh, organic veggies from ground to table sounds so appealing to me 🙂

    • Many hands make light the work Sandi 🙂 It is great to have fresh food that’s for sure.
      *anna

  2. Wow, it sounds like you’ve kept yourself and family very busy. Nothing beats being able to walk from the kitchen to garden to select fresh veges for dinner – makes you feel so virtuous!

    • Busy in good ways Mel. I can’t wait to stop by wwangel and see how your trip to Melbourne was 🙂
      *anna

  3. I am jealous! Here it’s APRIL, not spring (rain, rain, rain, a hint of sun, rain, rain, rain). I am so ready for some warm weather!!!

    • Oh Moonday, we could USE rain here…it is SO dry. Enjoy it for me 🙂
      *anna

  4. Anna – I am in the sam boat – sticking to Dukan and weight hasn’t moved up or down the same 2 pounds for about 6 weeks. I’m giving it a few more weeks and then also thinking about shaking things up – but I’m not sure what that means! Adding in a fruit? Would love to hear your thoughts! It’s annoying to be doing this plan and not see any results.

    • Hi Beth,
      I know several people who have done remarkably well on Dukan. I did at first. For me I don’t think it is so much the diet, Dr. Dukan does caution against exercise (no more than a 30 min walk/day). I am also training quite hard right now using the BFFM program and I think that is part of the issue for me. I personally have quit wheat wholly and won’t be returning to it Dukan or not. I’m more of a paleo eater these days, generally. Since you asked for my thoughts, I personally would not add fruits, unless it is smaller amounts of berries since they are low glycemic.
      What shaking it up means for me is this: Essentially moving toward consolidation, not celebration meals, not wheat. I also watch my calorie consumption and my current plan is to cycle calories during the week ie: 1615 on work out days, 1550 on non-lifting days (cardio only) and one day/week eating at maintenance which for me is 2020 cal/day. I’m not willing to stop training since my ultimate goal is not necessarily weight loss so much as body recomposition.
      I hear that you feel annoyed with not seeing results while being compliant w/ the plan, but it may be better to just view it as another collection of data…you now know this is not working for you. We are all so different and have different needs. Many of the Dukan principles translate well into other plans. If you haven’t already done so, check your calories. If you are eating too far below your maintenance level of calories (ie: grater than 25% less, you could have triggered the starvation response in your body and may need to up your calories to get your metabolism back in high gear.) Best of luck!

      *anna

  5. Great post Anna. I believe that adage is also called the definition of insanity – doing the same thing but expecting different reults! 🙂 I think your plan sounds like a good one, especially considering the fitness plan you are following. I hope things start moving again for you soon! xoxo

    • Movement would be good 🙂
      *anna


Leave a Reply

Categories

