Posted by: oceannah | April 2, 2012

Onion Crisps Photo Low Carb & Yummy

I made these onion crisps yesterday.  Sonia put this recipe up on her blog the other day, it’s originally from the Dukanitout website.

The recipe was simple to prepare and very tasty indeed.  I used a silicone baking mat instead of spraying the sheet pan.  I think this sacrificed some of the crispness, but not the flavor.

mixing it up

I mixed everything in the mini processor it was pretty simple.  I added the diced onion at the end for a final whir.

Right before popping them in the oven I sprinkled some black sesame seeds on them.  When they came out they smelled delicious and the crew was hovering over them waiting for them to cool just enough to be eaten.  They were a big hit!

These will disappear fast!

As you can see the second batch was crisped up perhaps a little TOO much!  That did not stop anyone from consuming them in a hurry.  I had to be quick to get this picture 🙂   I would recommend this recipe for when you want a savory crunch in your day.  They remind me somewhat of poppadums, the Indian flat breads made with lentils.  I wonder if those are Dukan friendly?  Another quest begins.

*anna

Responses

  1. Those look good. I would enjoy them, but DW wouldn’t. She isn’t an onion fan. 🙂 Those are probably pretty WW friendly too. Not too high in carbs or fat and higher in fiber and protein.

    • Russel, As I was making these tasty treats I was already wondering what other flavors I might add. So, if you don’t want to use the onion I was thinking Parmesan cheese or perhaps even truiva/cinnamon blend like cinnamon toast, a little almond extract with toasted almonds…the possibilities seem endless. Let me know if you come up with a flavor that you like.
      *anna

      • I sure will.

  2. Yummy!

  3. they are soo good, i had garlic breathe for 2 days after hahahha!!

    • i mean onion breath lol! (and maybe a bit of garlic from dinner)

      • Hahaha…Onion & garlic are my faves!
        *anna


Leave a Reply

Categories

