Posted by: oceannah | March 27, 2012

Shiratake Primavera Recipe & Review -vegetarian

prepped and ready to goI’ve never heard of shiratake noodles until I started the Dukan diet.  They are made from tofu and have 3 grams of carb total with 2 grams of fiber for a net total carbohydrate per serving of 1.  I found  them today at the health food store.  They were stored in the refrigerated section.  I thought it would be a nice change up and I’m always interested in new products, especially low carb ones.

The package say to boil the noodles 2-3 minutes to “remove natural aroma”.  This was a little curious to me and to be on the safe side, I threw in two cloves of garlic and a pinch of cayenne pepper to the pot before adding the noodles.

Shiratake Primavera Recipe with Garlic Scape* Pesto and Review

1 pouch of shiratake noodles

Shiritake Primavera w/ Garlic Scape Pesto

Shiratake Primavera w/ Garlic Scape Pesto

2 zucchini

1 red pepper

2 carrots

1 T Ex-V olive oil

3 T pesto- garlic scape or basil

Cut the red pepper into julienne strips and use a Benrinner/mandolin to julienne the carrots and zucchini.  I lightly sautéed the veggies while the noodles boiled.  The trick is to not cook the veggies too much, al dente is the goal.  To achieve this end, I put the red peppers in first followed by the carrot then the zukes to finish.  Once the noodles were done I drained them and tossed them into the pan with the veggies added the pesto and hit the plate!  Delicioso!

I served our dinner with chicken breast baked in tomato and herbs.  We grew a bunch of Amish paste tomatoes last summer.  Many years ago I gave up the tedious task of canning tomatoes.  What I do now is bring clean zip-close bags into the garden, pluck off the ripe tomatoes, pop them in the bag and put them on the top of the big barn freezer to cool down.  Before turning in for the night they get put directly into the freezer.  To use them, just take out as many as you like and allow them to defrost on the counter in a bowl.  What I’ve learned is that doing this the tomatoes defrost and give up much of their liquid, largely as clear fluid.  What’s left is concentrated tomato with the skin.  If you’re going to make something smooth, don’t bother to remove the skin, just put it all into the blender.  If you want to remove the skins, they slip right off.  If you’re not a tomato grower, simply open a jar of your favorite sauce.  Super simple.

*Garlic scapes are the curly-q flowering portion of the garlic plant.  We harvest them just as the stalks are beginning to swell slightly in the flower area.  Because we want all the plants energy focused on making nice big garlic bulbs, it’s best to remove the flower.  To make the pesto cut the scapes into 1 inch pieces add olive oil and a bit of Reggiano parmesan cheese, You can also add nuts it that suits your fancy…then give it all a ride in the cuisinart until it’s the texture you like.  It’s garlicky, green and SO wonderful.

Review- The noodles alone were decidedly bland.  Even the cayenne and garlic in the water did not impart much flavor.  I think salt in the water would be useful.  The texture was interesting and since there were about twice as many veggies as noodles in this recipe, it’s hard to really judge them as a standalone product.  Of course putting Garlic Scape Pesto on just about anything improves it in my book.  They are certainly filling and had the feel of eating regular noodles, or at least rice noodles.  Everybody really liked the meal.  I would definitely try them again.  I was reluctant to buy more than one package for our ‘first date’.   So I’ll have to wait til another trip to that particular store as it’s the only place I’ve seen them so far in our area.  Enjoy!

*anna

photo:  http://www.shiratakinoodles.net/

Responses

  1. On my way to Hong Kong, going to try to get the shirataki noodles there.
    And another thing we eat the same GARLIC SCAPES!!! If you read back in my blog, I eat them all the time. I love them. I refer to then as garlic stems and I have NO IDEA how I’ll get then when I move back to the States!

    • I don’t know about commercial availability, but here scapes are available in mid-late summer depending on weather and such. Best place to look would be farmer’s markets and such.
      *anna

      • I had never seen them until I moved to China, or maybe I didn’t know what they were. I LOVE THEM!!!

        Looked for shirataki noodles tonight for over 30 minutes… No go. Going to bigger market tomorrow.

  2. This looks very delicious. I should check the Asian store we have here if they have these shirataki noodles. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

