Posted by: oceannah | March 24, 2012

Cholesterol Reduction due to Carbohydrate Restriction

FALLING CHOLESTEROL ZONE WITH THE  DUKAN DIET

Doctor appointment Friday went well.  The labs were drawn last Friday so, I hadn’t even been on Dukan a full month.  Total cholesterol was down 26 points (279 to 245) HDL—the good one-was up 7 points (68 to 74) Triglycerides were way down for a total of 86 points (150 to 84) although my triglycerides had been as high as 270 in previous measures–LDL down 26 points (180 to 154).  The LDL is still higher than desired, but it is moving in the right direction.  My doctor certified weight was 152#.  I have to say I expected the triglycerides to drop but not to plummet like that.  Carbohydrate consumption drives triglyceride production, (see here)  It’s great to be using such a simple thing like diet to control cholesterol.  I was completely opposed to the statin I was offered by my doctor.  Boy did I feel like a smug slug when the NY Times ran this recent article:  FDA Issues New Alerts About Cholesterol Drugs

Since I’m not a big-pharma kind of gal, but I do want to achieve a high level of health, when my doctor recommended statins over a year ago, I opted to try the more natural alternative; Red Yeast Rice.  I used a 600mg dose of RYR for 90 days to asses if it had any positive effect on my cholesterol.  I was exercising regularly, cutting back on all red meat, eggs and dairy products.  By the middle of the 90 days I was experiencing weight gain, confusion, and inexplicable muscle aches.  Hmmm?  Sounds suspect.  After the blood draw that reflected the 90 days of taking RYR, there was very very little difference in my labs, ie: one or two points, and my triglycerides were even higher than the previous labs!  What the !?!  Experiment over.  Remaining RYR in the trash.

It’s nice to know that there is a simple effective way to get results.  Reducing or eliminating carbohydrate.  That took me a long while to really accept.  I mean, c’mon, I was eating organic sprouted grain Ezekiel english muffins, brown rice, quinoa, steel cut oats (all of them soaked and sprouted when appropriate -natch)… how on earth could that be a bad thing?  Not that Ezekiel english muffins or whole grains are bad for everyone–no no–they simply don’t compliment/promote a high quality of health for MY body.  In this case no pudding was needed…the proof was in the carbs all along.

*anna

Responses

  1. Congrats on your improving cholesterol!

    I had my blood work done on Tuesday.. I don’t have the results in front of me, but my total cholesterol was 143!!! I was shocked! My triglycerides were just a couple above the low end of normal. I was very happy!

    I’ll continue wheat free after I enter consolidation, I’d love to keep this rockin’ cholesterol 🙂

    • Hurray for our good blood 😮 The triglycerides are the most affected by carbs, simple/complex. I too have come to accept that wheat and I must part company. Thankfully there are many other wonderful things to eat.
      *anna

  2. I agree with this; cutting out the refined, simple carbs will lead to a better life, and health as well! Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

    • The irony for me Wartica was that I was not eating simple refined carbs…they were all whole grains. However a carbs a carb in to my body and they’re a bit too toxic for me at this time. Look forward to hearing from you again.
      *anna

  3. Thats fantastic news Anna! You must be really happy. I would’ve never thought about carbs affecting anyone like that, especially when you were eating the ‘healthy’ ones too!
    It will be interesting to see what affect re-introducing carbs / wheat has on me when I reach consolidation. I know alot of people are blogging about the book wheat belly. Maybe its worth a read, although Im not sure I could give up wheat entirely. Hope the averaging on the scales is working well for you this week. xoxo

    • Sonia, I haven’t read the book “Wheat Belly” yet, but truthfully I don’t think I need to read it. I’ve actually known for a longish time that wheat and I don’t really get along. I tried to deny…rationalize…grind my own soaked organic wheat berries and make my own bread (which was delicious) but since I’ve finally accepted the truth it’s actually a relief. Plus, my joints don’t hurt so much and I’m WAY less bloated. Everyone is different though and the best thing I think would be when you do re-introduce wheat, you ONLY use wheat (no other grains) and since I know you log daily make a note how you feel after eating wheat. That way you can determine if it is ok for you. xo
      *anna

  4. The more I listen to podcasts put out by Jimmy Moore “The Livin’ La Vida Low-Carb Show” the more I hear stories just like yours. Cut the carbs and that includes the so called healthy whole grains and the result is improved blood work. TIme and time again he has people telling that story and they too avoid taking statins which sound like a very nasty drug given the side-effects. I am so pleased you have managed to achieve this too! Well done!! I got the audio book version of Wheat Belly so I could listen to it while out running and I’ll avoid eating wheat for the rest of my life – it was very enlightening.

    • Mel,
      Livin’ La Vida Low Carb is one of the first places I heard the triglyceride/carb info (along with Stephan at wholehealthsource.) I’ve never listened to a podcast. Perhaps another thing I’ll end up having a “first” for me this 2012 🙂 I really like both their websites. I’ll need to check if the library has the audio book, I never thought to run/read great idea thanks.
      *anna


Leave a Reply

Categories

